Wright’s Anglers Rest

One of Dublin’s best known and most inviting restaurants, The Angler’s Rest offers an extensive menu and top-class cuisine in the welcoming ambience of its French threadbare-style and elegance. Originally built as a hotel in 1865 and used by honeymooning Dubliners, it has always been called The Anglers Rest and is still serving great seafood to this day.

Just a 10-15-minute drive from Dublin City Centre, this landmark establishment in the seclusion of the Strawberry Beds – next door to the Phoenix Park – has a history that stretches back to Cromwellian times and the famous patriot Michael Collins. It has long been considered as his the favourite watering hole and for anglers fishing along the banks of the adjacent River Liffey.

Today, the tradition of great food and drink continues with a strong culinary reputation, including the freshest seafood landed by Wrights of Howth, and a wide selection of national and international brands of beers, wines and spirits.

The charming Sackville Terrace is renowned for summer dining, while the ‘Salmon Room’ can cater for intimate private dining, and the stylish upstairs Phoenix room – with a capacity of up to 150 – is perfect for weddings & other special events.

Its picturesque location next to the banks of the Liffey at the Strawberry Beds and its reputation for fine food has made The Anglers Rest an increasingly popular and alternative venue for weddings.

Anglers Rest History

The Strawberry Beds 1600AD. Previously this road was the main road to the West, on which Oliver Cromwell’s army marched in 1641. During the 1919-1922 period, Michael Collins would meet his Dublin Castle spies in this pub. In one of these meetings he was handed a list of names & a photograph of a group of enemy agents.

The Guinness family have long been associated with the Strawberry Beds area. It was famous for its strawberries, hence the name and also for its fresh water springs. If you listen you can hear the river Liffey flowing, which runs adjacent to the pub.

In 1840, it was known as Kellys Anglers Rest & in 1899 it was known as Doyles Anglers Rest. Since 1999 it has been Wrights Anglers Rest which people know and love today.